Cegielnia Crossing is Midtown’s suburbia. Once home to Coldbrook Creek, fields, and far removed from the City limits, the Crossing was largely developed between 1930 and 1960. “Donna Reed Land,” as many Midtowners affectionately call it, boasts many brick ranches and postwar architecture.
In the 1890s, a contingent of Polish immigrants settled on the east side of the Grand River, centered around the East Bridge Street and East Street (now Eastern Avenue) intersection. This Polish enclave was the only non-Dutch immigrant enclave east of the Grand River.
A significant number of the Polish immigrants residing in this area worked in the brickyards between Diamond and Fuller Avenues The “Brickyaat“). So, the pioneer Polanders initially referred to the area as the “Cegielnia”,
which is Polish for brickyard.
The neighbors chose to honor the Polish history of their section of Midtown by referring to the neighborhood as Cegielnia. They added the word “Crossing” to honor the immigrants’ journey to America.